Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu, who became the center of criticism of the opposition after two railway accidents within five days in UP, has taken moral responsibility of the accident. He has offered his resignation. If his resignation will be accepted, he will become the third Railway Minister to resign after the responsibility of the accident. Before them, only two Railway Ministers have resigned in the history of independent India.

Rail Minister Suresh Prabhu.

The Railway Ministers to resign on this basis on the basis of ethics after the accidents in Independent India’s history was former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri and Nitish Kumar.

Why did Shastri resign

Lal Bahadur Shastri was made Railway Minister during Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru’s tenure. There was a fierce train accident on 27th November 1956 in Ariyalur, Tamilnadu. About 142 people died in the accident Lal Bahadur took the moral responsibility of the accident and resigned.

43 years after, Nitish Kumar resigned

Nitish Kumar, the current Chief Minister of Bihar, who resigned on moral ground after Shastriji. During the tenure of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Nitish was made Railway Minister in the NDA government. The Gaisal train incident occurred in 1999. About 290 people died in this fatal accident.

Mamta also gave up resignation

During Vajpayee’s tenure, NDA Railway Minister Mamta Banerjee also resigned in 2000 with the moral responsibility of two railway accidents. However, then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee rejected his resignation.

Two accidents happen within 5 days 

There were two major accident in UP in five days. The first was held in Khatauli, Muzaffarnagar on August 19th. In it, due to the alleged negligence of the employees, Utkal Express derailed. About 24 people died while 150 were injured. The second incident happened on August 23 in Aareya district. Here the 10 coaches of Kaifiyat Express derailed. In this accident, 74 people have been injured, although no news of death of anybody.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here