Arvind Panagariya resigns as Deputy Chairman of the Niti AayogNew Delhi Economist Arvind Panagariya has resigned as the Deputy Chairman of the Niti Aayog. He has sent his resignation to the Prime Minister and the Chairman of the Niti Aayog, Narendra Modi, and requested him to retire till August 31.  Now the potential contenders include Chief Economic Advisor Arvind Subramanyam, a former member of Planning Commission Narendra Jadhav and former bureaucrat NK Singh.

In the tenure of Panaghiya, the association of the Sangh Parivar had expressed dissatisfaction with the recommendation of GM [Genetically Modified] crops. The Modi government had set up the Niti Aayog through a resolution on January 1, 2015, by abolishing the then Planning Commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here